Announcing our 2020 Board Officers

We often say that EPIP is a leaderful organization, but that would not be possible without the leadership of our Board of Advisors. As we prepare to welcome a new slate of board officers and members, we wish to take a moment to acknowledge and thank the leaders who have served as stewards of our organization, bringing us to where we are today. Thank you to outgoing Board Chair Nakisha M. Lewis, Vice-Chair Janet I. Sandoval, and Secretary Morgan Shannon for your passion, dedication, and extraordinary service and to Caitlin Wagner Fisher and Bianca Alston, whose board terms ended late last year, for your guidance, support, and wisdom.

Under their leadership, the outgoing Board of Advisors was able to shepherd EPIP through organizational transitions and growth, all while maintaining a commitment to our strategic vision and values. And it must be noted that each of these leaders has contributed to our EPIP community well beyond their service as members of the Board of Advisors. Because of them, EPIP is well-positioned to continue its work to center equity and justice in all of our efforts.

As we now build upon the foundation that previous board members and officers have helped us to establish, it is our honor and privilege to announce EPIP’s new board officers for 2020. These changemakers have stepped into their roles without hesitation during a time of great uncertainty for the world as a whole. We are grateful to them and to the entire Board of Advisors for their leadership and support.

Anthony Simmons will serve as EPIP’s Chair. He is currently the Manager of the Racial Equity Grantmaking Program at ABFE, which provides support and tools to community change efforts in Black communities combating long histories of racial inequity. Anthony has long been part of the EPIP community through our CHANGE Philanthropy partnership and brings a long history in philanthropy and deep engagement with equity to EPIP’s work. His belief in the importance of EPIP to the next generation of philanthropy and commitment to EPIP and our community is a source of strength and inspiration, and we welcome him as chair.

Maheen Kaleem, who serves as a Program Officer for the Initiative to End Violence Against Girls and Women at the NoVo Foundation, will serve as EPIPs Vice-Chair. Maheen has long been an advocate for women and girls who face interpersonal and institutional violence. Her commitment to helping the most vulnerable by uprooting systems of oppression and deep understanding of the impact of the philanthropic sector on the lives of the marginalized will be invaluable to EPIP as we continue to advocate for change in and through the sector.

Michelle Jaramillo will serve as Treasurer. As a former chair and co-founder of the EPIP San Diego chapter, Michelle is no stranger to EPIP. Currently, she is Director of Education Initiatives at The San Diego Foundation, working in collaboration with community partners to give San Diego students educational opportunities. Throughout her career, Michelle has worked to deepen the practices of social justice, diversity, equity, and belonging in the philanthropic sector, and her connection both to EPIP and to other leaders in the sector in this work brings a unique perspective that will strengthen our work.

EPIP’s staff and board look forward to the continued leadership of these stalwart and passionate board members over the coming year. We also want to acknowledge the other members of EPIP’s Board of Advisors: Dion Cartwright (Director of Equitable Initiatives and Leadership Development, Funders Network for Smart Growth & Livable Communities), Arielle Milton (Associate Program Officer, The Charles Stewart Mott Foundation), and Dr. Cassie Schwerner (Executive Director, Morningside Center for Teaching Social Responsibility).

Please join us in welcoming our new officers and thank our outgoing officers and advisory board members for their service to our community.

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.